Eastland Disaster

105th Anniversary Commemoration

July 2020 events

Please join us this summer as EDHS hosts the 105th anniversary commemoration of Chicago’s greatest loss-of-life tragedy. Individuals and families who are personally connected to the tragedy will be gathering to learn, remember, and build new relationships.


Tuesday

July 21

1 - 2 p.m. CDT (6 - 7 p.m. GMT)

Ask The Expert

Video conference regarding the Eastland Disaster genealogical records, with Ted Wachholz. Details

7 - 8 p.m. CDT (12 - 1 a.m. GMT)

Ask The Expert

Video conference regarding the Eastland Disaster genealogical records, with Ted Wachholz. Details


Friday

July 24

12 - 12:30 p.m. CDT (5 - 5:30 p.m. GMT)

Public Ceremony

The riverwalk ceremony is open to the public and will be held at the site of the Eastland Disaster (along the Chicago Riverwalk just west of the Clark Street bridge). Details

9 - 10 p.m. CDT

Chicago PBS WTTW Channel-11 broadcast of documentary

Eastland: The Shipwreck That Shook America will be broadcast in the Greater Chicago area.


Saturday

July 25

10 - 10:30 a.m. CDT

Public Ceremony

The dockside ceremony is open to the public and will be held at the site where the Eastland was to have docked upon arrival for the picnic. Details


Sunday

July 26

6 - 7 p.m. CDT

Peoria, Illinois PBS WTVP Channel-47 broadcast of documentary

Eastland: The Shipwreck That Shook America will be broadcast in the Greater Chicago area.

Get Involved